

Fracking Waste in New York: County Bans

At least 15 New York counties have enacted fracking waste bans. These bans prohibit the use of oil and/or gas waste on roads, disposal at landfills, and/or discharge into wastewater treatment facilities.

Albany	Rockland	Cayuga	Nassau
Putnam	Westchester	Schoharie	Erie
Orange	Ulster	Clinton	Suffolk
Oneida	Tompkins	Onondaga	

NYS Counties with Fracking Waste Bans

Case Study: Clinton County

In August 2014, Clinton County passed one of the most rigorous fracking waste bans in New York State, based on Riverkeeper's model legislation.

The measure prohibits application of oil and gas waste on roads, its sale within county limits, disposal at landfills, and acceptance at wastewater treatment facilities.

The legislation also provides for a fine of up to \$25,000 per violation.



Riverkeeper model legislation is available to help New York localities craft their own bans.

For questions, please contact <u>info@riverkeeper.org</u>.

Learn more at www.riverkeeper.org/fracking-waste-in-new-york

